Skip directly to content

Next Thursday Evening : Three Minute Fiction Slam Event

on Tue, 02/14/2017 - 17:36


Who : New Hampshire Writer's Project, SNHU Creative Writing Club, ten talented contestants, and our amazing panel of guest judges, Elaine Isaak, Rob Greene, Elizabeth Atkinson

What: Writers are invited to perform an original piece of flash fiction. This year's regional winners will gather for a final showdown at the NH Institute of Art on Thursday, March 9, 2017. 

When : Thursday, February 23rd, 7:30pm

Where: Walker Auditorium in Robert Frost Hall on SNHU Campus (2500 North River Road, Manchester, NH)

Why: It's fun, fast-paced, and it's an evening of literary entertainment you will not want to miss! For writers, this is a great opportunity to gain some valuable feedback.

 Want to compete? If you have a piece of flash fiction you would like to share, register for The Three Minute Fiction by emailing the event organizer, Lisa Allard, at

What can you expect ? Writers take turns presenting original flash fiction pieces of no more than three minutes in length when read aloud. After each writer is done, judges give (very brief) verbal feedback and secretly record a numeric score out of five. One point over-all will be deducted if an author goes over the allotted three minutesThe judges keep a private score for each piece. At the end of the night, the contestant with the highest score wins. In the event of a tie, the audience selects the winner through an “Applause-O-Meter” test as determined by the judges.    

Regional winners are invited to participate in the Three Minute Fiction Slam state finals. If they cannot attend, then the runner-up will be sent. Past winners have performed their works for the Business in the Arts Awards Ceremony, the Currier Museum, and on-air at NHPR. Among other prizes, the ultimate winner gets free entrance to Writers' Day 2016 (the region's largest literary conference) where they will read the winning work before an audience of publishers, editors, agents, and fellow writers.

Meet our 2017 Panel of Judges :

Elaine Isaak is the author of The Singer's Crown and its sequels.  As E. C. Ambrose, she writes The Dark Apostle series, historical fantasy about medieval surgery which continues this month with Elisha Mancer. Elaine quite enjoys her alternate identity, aside from a desire to start arguments with herself on social media.  In addition to fiction, she has written how-to articles for the Writer Magazine, and non-fiction at Clarkesworld, taught at the Odyssey Speculative Fiction Workshop, and spoken to writers' groups across the country.  Under any name, you still do NOT want to be her hero.




R.W.W. Greene is a New Hampshire writer with an MFA and a couple of good local bars in which to exorcise it. His work has seen daylight in the 2017 Young Explorer's Adventure Guide, the 2016 Halloween issue of TigerShark Magazine, and The New Republic. Greene keeps bees, collects typewriters, and Tweets about it all @rwwgreene. He is a trustee of the New Hampshire Writers' Project.





Elizabeth Atkinson is an award-winning middle-grade author whose heartfelt novels include From Alice to Zen and Everyone in Between which won a gold Moonbeam award for pre-teen fiction as well as I, Emma Freke, which won the Ado-Lisant prize in Belgium for the French Edition. Her novel The Sugar Mountain Snowball won the 2016 Gold Moonbeam Award, and her newest release, The Island of Beyond received recognition in the New York Public Library’s Best Kids and Teen Books 2016 list.






Everyone is encouraged to attend this event, but if you would like to compete, registration is required. If you have any questions, please contact or

Guest Parking : For most convenient parking, visitors can park their cars in lot I-C by Belknap Hall, which is located by the main entrance and is a short walk to Robert Frost Hall. Parking is also available across the street in lot 12-C (next to the Gustafson Center) or in Lot 26-C (behind the Learning Commons). Refer here for a campus map.